top of page

Thoughts on Self-doubt


A couple of days ago, I had a very interesting conversation with myself. Sounds creepy to talk with yourself, is not it? yeah, but it is fun, and everyone does it. The conversation was like an interview and it started with this question:  I: How do you fight the self-doubt? I: Wrong question my friend. You should ask me, how do you deal with self-doubt? this is the right question To achieve anything in life, you have to chase the right goals by asking yourself the right questions. Recently I've realized that self-doubt is not meant to be an obstacle in my way to my goals. Just the opposite is correct, it is a self-reflection mechanism of my mind to help me watch my steps and to have a sense of care while taking bold risks.  With a sarcastic voice, I replied: Ok, Mr. philosopher so you don't have any self-doubt? asking myself and putting my ego under test with this question I: No! I have so much self-doubt. I have self-doubt that I'll achieve any of what I'm pursuing. I have self-doubt that I'll make my parents proud of me. I have self-doubt that I'll meet the promises I made to myself, my team and my friends. I have all these doubts and more.  I: So, you don’t believe in yourself? I: False interpretation my dear. Self-doubt does not contradict with being a believer on myself. It is necessary to purify my self-belief from any recklessness or arrogance  I: Does that busy your emotions or paralyze your thoughts? I: It used to do that to me but now I accept it, embrace it and use it for my good.  I: Nice way of positive thinking, tell me when did you shift your perspectives about self-doubt? I: Actually, all started when I realized that self-doubt comes out of fear. So I had this paradigm shift, when I started to accept my fears and when I realized that my goal is not to be fearless but rather to fear (less).  I: Again, with the same sarcastic voice, too deep my friend, please elaborate more! I: Ok! Let’s start from where I want to end up, my goal in life. I’m hoping for -Change- and it means that I’m pursuing a new destination which necessary requires a new way. As it is new, so it must be full of unknows. And, in my opinion, the unknown is the main fear for each human being.  So my friend, remember that the bigger your goal is the more unknowns you have to figure out and the more self-doubt you have to endure. Don’t fight it! Accept it and embrace it!  ©Picture from my beloved town Dahab

©Picture from my beloved town Dahab A couple of days ago, I had a very interesting conversation with myself. Sounds creepy to talk with yourself, is not it? yeah, but it is fun, and everyone does it. The conversation was like an interview and it started with this question:

I: How do you fight the self-doubt? I: Wrong question my friend. You should ask me, how do you deal with self-doubt? this is the right question To achieve anything in life, you have to chase the right goals by asking yourself the right questions. Recently I've realized that self-doubt is not meant to be an obstacle in my way to my goals. Just the opposite is correct, it is a self-reflection mechanism of my mind to help me watch my steps and to have a sense of care while taking bold risks.

With a sarcastic voice, I replied: Ok, Mr. philosopher so you don't have any self-doubt? asking myself and putting my ego under test with this question I: No! I have so much self-doubt. I have self-doubt that I'll achieve any of what I'm pursuing. I have self-doubt that I'll make my parents proud of me. I have self-doubt that I'll meet the promises I made to myself, my team and my friends. I have all these doubts and more.

I: So, you don’t believe in yourself? I: False interpretation my dear. Self-doubt does not contradict with being a believer on myself. It is necessary to purify my self-belief from any recklessness or arrogance.

I: Does that busy your emotions or paralyze your thoughts? I: It used to do that to me but now I accept it, embrace it and use it for my good.

I: Nice way of positive thinking, tell me when did you shift your perspectives about self-doubt? I: Actually, all started when I realized that self-doubt comes out of fear. So I had this paradigm shift, when I started to accept my fears and when I realized that my goal is not to be fearless but rather to fear (less).

Again, with the same sarcastic voice: Taht is too deep my friend, please elaborate more! I: Ok! Let’s start from where I want to end up, my goal in life. I’m hoping for -Change- and it means that I’m pursuing a new destination which necessary requires a new way. As it is new, so it must be full of unknows. And, in my opinion, the unknown is the main fear for each human being.

So my friend, remember that the bigger your goal is the more unknowns you have to figure out and the more self-doubt you have to endure. Don’t fight it! Accept it and embrace it!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page